Login | Join/Renew

Malcolm Bowie Prize 2017

Submitted by ccarlin on 13 December 2017 - 12:31am

The Society for French Studies is now accepting entries for the 2017 Malcolm Bowie Prize. Eligibility conditions and details of how to apply may be found below, as well as at the Society’s website (www.sfs.ac.uk). 


Society for French Studies: Malcolm Bowie Prize 2017


Malcolm Bowie, who died in January 2007, was not only the most eminent and inspirational Anglophone scholar of French literature and theory of his generation; he was a towering figure in the field because of his tireless devotion to the scholarly community both in the UK and abroad. His service to the Society for French Studies is exemplary in this respect: he was President of the Society (1994-96), as well as General Editor of French Studies (1980-87). In his honour, a prize will be awarded for the best article published in the preceding year by an early-career researcher in the broader discipline of French Studies.


The award includes:

*  a cash prize of £1000; 

*  expenses-paid travel to the next annual conference of the Society for French Studies;

*  mention in the French Studies Bulletin and on the Society for French Studies website.   


Conditions of entry 


The Society invites nominations of articles published in 2017 from editors of learned journals, editors or publishers of collected volumes, and heads of university departments. Authors may not self-nominate (though they may ask editors, publishers, or university departments to consider nominating them). To be eligible for nomination, authors must be within five years of obtaining their PhD when their article is published (in this instance anyone who received his or her PhD in or after 2012 but before the end of 2017). In addition, they must either have been registered for their PhD or worked since then in a Department of French/Modern Languages, or equivalent. Articles may be published anywhere in the world, but must be written in French or English.  


Nominations should be submitted by email to Professor Judith Still (judith.still@nottingham.ac.uk), together with a statement which includes full publication details of the article concerned and an indication of how the candidate satisfies the two criteria for eligibility specified above. Nominations should be accompanied by a PDF file of the article as it appears in print. Nominations not accompanied by a PDF file will not be valid.  


The deadline for receipt of nominations for the 2017 Prize (including the article itself) is 27 January 2018. Entries may be submitted immediately.

( categories: )